Otschodela Boy Scout Council Honors
Dennis Porter with Silver Beaver Award

ONEONTA - On Saturday, May 7, the Otschodela Council Boy Scouts of America recognized over 60 volunteers and community organizations that support scouting at their annual volunteer recognition dinner at the Holiday Inn in Oneonta.

Boys Scout Award
SILVER BEAVER AWARD is presented to Dennis Porter by his
friend and Troop 34 scoutmaster Roy Nabinger.
His wife Margaret looks on with pride.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Silver Beaver Award. This is the highest recognition a council can bestow upon an individual for service to scouting, youth and their community. Those recognized include: Dennis Porter of Sidney. Dennis Porter has been an active member of the Boy Scouts of America since his youth with the Cub Scout and Boy Scout programs at Sacred Heart Church in Sidney where his father served as Scoutmaster. During his 25 years as an active adult volunteer he has served as committee chairman of Pack 34 Sidney and assistant scoutmaster of Troop 34 Sidney where his son Mark achieved the rank of Eagle Scout. Dennis expanded his commitment to scouting in 1999 serving as a unit commissioner and from 2000-2004 as chairman to the Foothills District covering Delaware and Southern Schoharie Counties. As chairman, Dennis implemented many programs that scouts continue to enjoy today including the Swim for Advancement program and COPE Course at Henderson Scout Reservation. In 2005 Dennis became a member of the Otschodela Council Executive Board and currently serves as council treasurer.

Boys Scout Award
AWARD OF MERIT is presented to Lisa Huyck of Franklin
by Paul Beames.

Dennis is also an active community volunteer serving as president of the Sidney Rotary Club, former member of the Sidney School Board, Sidney Alumni Association, Southern Tier Red Cross Board and executive director of the Sidney United Way. Dennis Lives by the Scout Oath and always looks for ways to "Help Other People at All Times." Longtime friend and scoutmaster of Troop 34, Roy Nabinger presented the Silver Beaver Award.

Otschodela Council additionally recognized the volunteers and community organizations who have helped scouting in their communities. Those receiving the District Award of Merit included: Lisa Huyck of Franklin and Heather Mann of Oneonta. The William H. Spurgeon III Award for outstanding service to youth in the Exploring program was presented to Carol Bowker of Masonville. A special recognition for 70 years of service to youth and delivering the promise of scouting to the young men and women of his community and Otschodela Council was presented to Ed Roelle of Sidney.

The Otschodela Council salutes all of its 2,000 volunteers who continue to serve the young men and women in their communities each day by delivering a program that emphasizes character development, fi tness, and citizenship while developing the leaders of the future.

Reprint from The Tri-Town News